Daily Archives: December 12, 2011

Day 1: Timing Your Creative Work

Note: A group of people are joining me in 30 days of getting back to our creative core by deep journaling and some form of meditation. Choosing to do deep, creative work.  Today’s blog is about timing–an important part of getting your creative work done.

Ancient books. Source: Haerr Trippin'

If you want to join us, leave your blog or website in the comments, and check out the people who are in the Blogroll–they are all explorers on the 30-Day journey. They may not post about it every day, but they are your tribe, now, too. Stop by and encourage them.

*     *     *     *

Let’s be honest–the journey we’ve started is work. And it’s work that no one else will do for you. Digging into your creative nooks and cranny requires patient, repetitive work, which is one reason I’m doing this for 30 days instead of 10.

The question I got most often was “When should I walk, and when should I write?” Walking meditation is a personal thing. I’ve tried walking at noon, and I hate the flat light. I tried walking late in the afternoon and I fill with despair. Cold or not, the biggest effect for me is to walk right before dawn and into sunrise. Dawn was 4:30 a.m. in summer and 7:22 a.m. this morning. I have to adjust.

When do you do your journaling?” When I did Morning Pages, I did do it first

Escribano, via illuminated-manuscripts

thing in the morning. And it worked. But what I’m doing now is completely different–I’m exploring my actions and accompanying emotions in hopes of developing ideas, solving problems, and listening to a spiritual echo in my life.

One of the problems I have is getting to bed on time. I’m a night person, so working at night is filled with energy. But coaching hours are early, and if I’m teaching, it’s up at 5:30 a.m., and the night-person/early riser combination is an energy drain.

My solution? Doing my writing at night, as a step in getting ready for bed. Advantages? Lots. Writing down actions/emotions helps me let go of things that didn’t go well during the day. It helps me explore my reactions and options. So I let go of guilt as I write, and replace it with positive action. I also explore creative problems, and doing it right before bed helps me dream up solutions, quite literally.
It’s the trifecta of bedtime ritual:

  • let go of guilt and worry
  • write down some actions for the next day
  • get ready to dream

When I head off to bed, I’m not rehearsing failure or churning problems. Sounds  useful. I’ll report back.

If you have something you’ve discovered, an idea you’ve had, or a tip to keep doing the work,  leave it as a comment.