Dreaming Book Titles

In my journal, there is a page with a list. Not a to-do list. Not a to-don’t list. It’s a list of titles, or maybe flash titles, as they are shorter than flash fiction.

iPhone wallpaper

They are a fragment of an idea. A question without an answer. OK, here’s an example:

Writing in a Burning House

See? You can see it, but it’s just out of reach. When I add to the list, I never check amazon, iTunes or any other source, as I don’t want to know if it exists, I just want to consider it.

Spinning Tears into Gold and Gold into Dross

Some seem sad around the edges, some make sense if you don’t think about it too hard.

High Thread-Count Fear

Cactus-spine needle, threaded with rain

Surely I can’t be the only person who does this. Or maybe I am.

–Quinn McDonald is a writer who draws with words.

25 responses to “Dreaming Book Titles

  1. LOL! I have entire lists of titles for possible paintings or other art pieces. Fun!

  2. I dont think you are the only one who does this…I have this constant flow of names/titles running through my head that I write in my journals of books I would like to write, and have written. It is fun and helps me solidify what I want for the one I am working on…

  3. I love these, Quinn! They are like tiny, one-line poems. I used to do something similar, except I created short synopses of the books to go along with the titles. I hadn’t thought about that for years, so thanks for the reminder! Now I think I should start doing that again…

  4. Just today I took a picture of all my planners and journals for 2012. One of them is a tiny little notebook to keep in my bag to jot down such things. :)
    Now I´m reflecting on bilinguism and Spanglish because I´m all over the place. :D

  5. I love that you do this too. I looked through one of my many notebooks for a few examples, and found 24! Oh dear, it’s a habit! Here are just a few –
    Crack of Doom
    Headline: Fire Escapes
    Flistered Hands
    Omen of Women
    Arroyo Altar
    Rimming the Canyon Drum
    Runes in Ruins
    Tea Stretches
    Sapsicle, Popsicle, Motorcicle

  6. I like this idea. I always struggle with titles for art pieces and I think keeping a list of interesting sounding ideas and clever word phrases might be a way to go.

  7. Here are a few from my journal: “Rhinoceros Soliloquy”; “A Tail of Words”; “Them that plants’em”; “Murder in the Henhouse”….

    My husband and I also do song titles and lyrics; our latest is:
    “I’m needy and I know it,
    I’m not afrid to show it,
    My mom said I’d outgrow it.
    But…”

  8. what a cool exercise. Jane LaFazio, soon to be author of “Salty snacks and Chardonnay.” hmm. I’m not as good at this as you are…

  9. now help me create titles for my silkwork!! I never know what to call things

  10. Everyday i read your post with pleasure and today this one made me smile because i like inventing book titles , they come to me especially when i knit; i never thought to write them but now i will do it .Perhaps i could use them as prompts for journal page.Thanks for sharing all those interesting blog posts , have a very nice day.

    • Your blog would not allow me to leave a comment–Blogger often does that to WordPress blog owners. The mist on the window gives those photos a lovely, soft look. And doing it in black and white does give it a look of charcoal on paper. Lovely idea! Thanks for visiting here. I think you should join in with the book title idea.

  11. Sweet ecstasy laced with chocolate! Fabulous!

    (draws with words, indeed)

Join the conversation

