Posts from the Studio

I don’t run new posts on Saturdays, but many people spend time in the studio on the weekends and I thought it might be helpful to post links to several older posts on this blog that might be helpful for a day in the studio.

How to make your own deckle-edge paper.

Review of Derwent Inktense watercolor pencils.

Marbling with Sumi ink.

10 Ideas for what to put on your journal’s first page

How to handle problem students (Part 1)  (Part 2)

Enjoy the day!

Quinn McDonald writes “The Business of Art” column for Somerset Studio.

6 responses to “Posts from the Studio

  1. Wonderful mix of posts going from product to human behaviour through techniques and content. Marvelous for net surfing on a Saturday night. :)
    *Paula hums happily while opening links*

  2. I had a brief brush with plein aire last summer.. not for me, as with ‘traditional’ silk painting techniques, things dry too quickly in the arid Wyoming climate. Inktense pencils work well, though, and could be applied to silk. I am still trying that out.

  3. Thank you, this is a great idea! I hadn’t found your deckle edge page when reading back through your entries. Its good to remind people of the gems that are hidden away!

    • I have close to 1,500 posts, so I’ve decided to put up links to oldies but goodies on Saturdays. If I were really efficient, I’d create whole pages of links, but, alas, I’m not.

Join the conversation

