Featuring Magazine #2 to Give Away

Collage © by Michelle Reuss, in Featuring magazine.

The second issue of Featuring magazine is out.  (Here’s the review of the first issue) I’m a fan of the magazine–from the smooth A4 size (see the size chart for the European A-size papers and how they keep getting cut in half), to the saturated colors and delicate, airy page design all the way to the coated paper cover that looks liquid-glazed.

The articles are leisurely, allowed to develop in a natural way that shows a curiosity about life and art. It’s rare to see a magazine that allows a story space to breathe, but Featuring does and I love the magazine for it.

In this issue are a mix of fascinating articles–an interview with Michelle Reuss

Josie George’s cleverly thought-out article on flash-fiction (Twitter-length stories) is also beautifully photographed.

who is open and clear about her detailed 2D and 3D work as well as her disability; a detailed article about blogger Tammy Garcia (DaisyYellow) and her irrepressible art ideas; a poem/journal about Coming Home by editor-in-chief Marit Barentsen that feels both familiar and far away.

There are 74 pages of beautifully-designed, carefully edited articles. Yes, I’m partial to flash fiction and artists who use maps in their work, and there are two articles on those topics, too.

You can buy the magazine on the Featuring website, (about $11.00) or you can leave a comment about why you want the magazine, and I’ll give one copy away. I bought two, just to make someone happy! Since I had the magazines shipped from Europe, I’ll be giving the magazine away to someone in the U.S., Mexico, or Canada.

NOTE: DJ Huff is the winner of the magazine! Congratulations!

-Quinn McDonald is an art journaler who is writing a book about the inner critic and your inner heroes.

47 responses to “Featuring Magazine #2 to Give Away

  1. It’s been on my radar since the last post you wrote about this magazine. I’d love a copy.

  2. Hello! Your description of this magazine makes me want to curl up on a rainy day here in Oregon and spend hours with tea and this magazine.. I also love the magazine format…so much that I have stacks of them that I reference frequently! We are always looking for new ideas in our house full of artists from ten to sixty years old.
    Christine

  3. I haven’t heard of this magazine. I must have missed your last review. It looks enchanting and I’d love to win a copy. Something to keep me inside when the cold weather returns to Flagstaff. The size looks intriguing.

    Marrianna

  4. I have been wanting to get my hands on this magazine since the first issue came out – it sounds amazing!!! One can never ave too many sources of inspiration! Thank you so much!

  5. This sounds like a very interesting magazine and I am a fan of Daisy Yellow

  6. I’ve lost my way creatively, and will need many, many maps to find my way home again. I’d love to receive this copy of Featuring magazine to assist me.

  7. Dear Quinn, thanks so much for your thoughtful review. You make it sound so yummy, I cannot resist. I’m tossing my name in this hat!

  8. I would love to read this magazine. Please enter my name.

  9. Kristin McNamara Freeman

    This looks like a magazine to add to my now very short list of subscriptions. I would be delighted to win the draw for a free copy.

  10. Oh Quinn, how generous of you to share, and to let us know about this great magazine! I am going to try the flash-fiction, as that intrigues me. Another genre!

  11. Just your description of the paper and the leisurely artsy articles has me raising my hand for the drawing. Add maps and poetry — heaven awaits. Thanks for ordering 2 so you could give one away – sweet!

  12. Looks like another great source of inspiration. Thanks for the chance to win. I’m especially interested in the disability article and info from Daisy Yellow.

  13. Please add my name to the hat!

  14. Thanks for the opportunity to win such a great looking magazine! I am especially interested in reading articles about how people are using art making to cope with disability and I am already a fan of DaisyYellow. It’s wonderful that there are so many cool places to find inspiration these days, including YOUR blog and tweets!

  15. I got my hands on the first issue, and the magazine IS everything you’ve said and more. Thanks for the opportunity to see the second issue!! :)

  16. I had never heard of Feature Magazine until I read your review of #2. It sounds inspiring and I’d love to win a copy :). Thank you for the awesome review and bringing the magazine to the attention of those of us who hadn’t heard of it before. I’m definately going to have to try to get a copy, even if I don’t win this contest.

  17. I haven’t seen this magazine yet, but would love to win a copy to check it out. It sounds really great.

  18. Oh, beg, beg, and more beg… I would love a copy of “Featuring”!

  19. You make this magazine sound so wonderful! I would love to be able to see for myself. Thanks for thinking of your readers and making us happy!

  20. I hadn’t noticed flash fiction before you mentioned it. Interesting — and explains a few Tweets I’ve seen that I really didn’t follow. Actually it reminds me of a book my daughters had ages ago: “The Mysteries of Harris Burdick.” Enigmatic one-sentence captions for pictures; maybe a sort of “flash fiction” twenty years early.

    • Flash fiction is a wonderful medium in which you tell enough of a story in 50 to 100 words to make the story clear, but not the details. Sometimes its done by making one detail stand out and leaving the rest to the imagination. I’m a big fan.

  21. Oh, I want this one and the first one so badly! I love Marit and would love to see her ‘baby’ in real life. Hope I win, hope I win, hope I win! Thanks for the chance.

  22. Hi Quinn,
    I would love to read the poem/journal story (and it sounds like a story and not an article) by Marit Barentsen on coming home. The older I get the more important “home” becomes to me, the whole concept of it. And the question: where is MY home. And the look of the magazine! It just cries out to be touched and savored. Thank you for the opportunity to have my very own copy of an experience I would not otherwise be able to afford.
    Jean

  23. I trust the perfect person will be the recipient of your generosity.

  24. Oh I would love to win this magazine, it sounds lovely.

  25. I’m always on the lookout for new inspiration and reading material. Your magazine description is tempting. I would love to check it out.

  26. Hi Quinn! Thanks so much for your review of Featuring magazine issue #2. Sounds very interesting. I am always looking for a bit of inspiration for my art and to fill my thoughts and mind with new approaches and ideas. You’ve piqued my curiosity with the flash fiction tease. I’d love to win the magazine — need a little boost in my spirit right now! I appreciate the giveaway opportunity. Thanks again.

  27. “It’s rare to see a magazine that allows a story space to breathe…” — You’ve totally intrigued me with this comment alone. The rest is icing on the cake. I definitely want to explore this magazine and would thoroughly and humbly appreciate winning a copy. Thank you for the opportunity.

  28. This is a wonderful review. I’ve been really intrigued by this magazine but have not been able to order it. Thanks for having a giveaway!

    I’ve been trying to leave a comment but my phone makes it difficult. So I’ll try again later.

    Take care! Chris

Join the conversation

