Putting on the Big Girl Panties

One of the hardest things about writing the Inner Hero book is not being able to share the artwork I’m doing on my blog. I’m not allowed to show you the ideas yet, but I’m doing work I’d love to share.

The book will be in bookstores on January 24, 2014, less than a year from now, so that means it will be ready for pre-order for holiday gifts. Always a good thing.

finlandToday I’m getting up at 4 a.m. and flying to the land of snow and ice–Cleveland, Ohio. The photo shoot schedule has finally rolled around. I’m excited, and of course, scared. First of all, I don’t own any winter clothing, so I might freeze to death. Second of all, what if I forgot something and can’t do the artwork? OK, so this is mostly inner critic stuff. And no, I’m not over my own inner critic. Still wrestling with him.

The illustrations on the blog are two postcards I got from my on-going international postcard swapping site, Postcrossing. The One with the guy on the motorcycle says, “Drive Fast and Sing Loud, ” in Finnish. Just right for today!

armadilloThe other card shows the rear end of an armadillo, which they don’t have in Germany, where the card came from. But we have them here, and I feel a lot like that little guy, too, facing a big empty space.

So now I’m off to have fun, chat with my Inner Critic (he loves flying, sitting in the seat next to me, chatting about fear and danger), and report back from the photo studio!

Quinn McDonald isn’t forgetting that for years it was her dream to write one book. Now that’s she seeing the second one get real, she’s putting on her Big Girl Panties and living the dream! The fact that the panties are now two sizes smaller than 12 weeks ago is also a good thing.

23 responses to “Putting on the Big Girl Panties

  1. dancinghairwoman

    Sounds like your set. Now put your inner critic back on the plane headed for some unknown destination!
    You and your big girl panties have got everything under control.

  2. Marking my calendar and getting ready for the launching party.
    On the other hand, why wait? Let´s parrrrrrrty! :D

  3. Have a good and productive trip!

  4. Stay warm, and have a grand time making your art. It will keep your focus off the thermometer. And I sooooo love that armadillo!

  5. Way to go, Quinn! Your way with words is so refreshing. Your inner critic loves to fly. LOL

    Congrats on the small, big girl panties, too.

  6. Safe travels. Congrats on living the dream and wearing pants two sizes smaller. Enjoy the week of photo shoots and art making. Make a snowball for me! :)

  7. You’ll do great in Cleveland! I’m so excited for you with this next step.

    And two sizes smaller…wohoooo!

  8. read THE SHADOW KING. he and the Inner Critic are brothers. have a good, safe trip

  9. Everybody needs a pair of big girl panties (preferably with pink ruffles!) to pull on as needed!

  10. I love the pages you showed us! Try to keep warm in the land of snow and ice. …..makes Az look pretty good!!!!

  11. Welcome to the land of snow and ice, Quinn! We have lake-effect snow today, but having flown in and out of Cleveland during snow squalls, I can tell you that they (pilots and ground folks) know what they’re doing and handle the snow well. Wear layers while you’re here. It’s the best way to keep warm. :)

    • All excellent suggestions. I don’t have a winter coat, so I layered up a fleece-lined shirt, a heavy hoodie, and a raincoat. Stylin’! I bought gloves, and I’m glad I did. The snow is pretty, in that “I never see this” kind of way, but my face is remembering why I left Connecticut!

    • Oh, yes, wanted to let you know that the pilot was great, and while I could have done without the flight attendant telling us that there was no wi-fi and no in-seat entertainment, and then adding, “I hope nothing else breaks down on this flight today!” (that’s a training issue), the landing was great. We landed on a slushy runway with very low visibility, and while the inner critic was bouncing up and down on my lap, telling me we were skidding, we were not. My only complaint was the length of the walk to the baggage claim, and that warmed me up, so I’m loving life here!

Join the conversation

