Creative Weekend Links

Note: Congratulations to Jen from Pierced Wonderings–she’s the winner of Eric Maisel’s book, Making Your Creative Mark.  For those who did not win this book, there will be another book give-away this week. Stay tuned!

Need a template for an envelope? You can download several sizes and styles here.

From the studio of Ana

From the studio of Ana Ter Haar.

The street artist Levalet paints on kraft paper with India Ink and then uses wheat paste to attach the scenes in urban areas. The result is interesting black-and-white scenes in startling city settings.

Erdal Inci is an animator who creates using video talents. He develops gifs that are both fascinating and slightly sinister. He clones images of people and then animates them to create mesmerizing repetitive gifs.

Daniel Sierra is a digital video artist who created a video on sine waves–the waves seem to move mildly at first, then they begin to get more alive, flick dust and smoke. His video, Oscillate, is mesmerizing.

Anna Ter Haar designs functional furniture and fashion accessories that drip. Glass. The colors against the wood look both soft and pliable.

Have a creative weekend!

Quinn McDonald is going to spend part of the weekend reading poetry books and searching for a ripe honeydew melon.

 

11 responses to “Creative Weekend Links

  1. Just watched Oscillate by Daniel Sierra. Mesmerizing indeed! And a nice surprise as you forgot to mention that the music and sound in this piece is also amazing! Thank you for sharing! Hope you locate a poetic melon!

    • You are right–Daniel also wrote the music. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I’m tone deaf and don’t react much to music, and often turn the sound on my computer waaaaay down.

      • I bet you’re not really tone deaf. If you were, you wouldn’t be able to distinguish the voice of somebody you know from somebody you don’t. After a long time wondering about it I’ve finally concluded that I just don’t like music. Occasionally it’s okay, and I’m very impressed by virtuosity in the “how on earth do they do that” sense. But mostly I’d rather have random noise or none.

        At least I’m not as far in that direction as Richard Feynmann, who explained that he found music distinctly uncomfortable and sometimes almost painful.

        • You are right–I don’t recognize people’s voices on the phone. I often have to ask, which is embarrassing, and now that people assume that their name shows up on my phone (it often doesn’t, although their number does), they get offended when I don’t know who they are. CookingMan has an uncanny ability to pick up voices on TV commercials with voiceovers, but he can sing, too. Yep, I find most music distracting, and a lot of it bothersome.

  2. Speaking of gifs, the inventor (Steve Wilhite) says it should be pronounced like the peanut butter (“jif”).

    In this, of course, he joins the time-honored tradition of inventors misnaming, mispronouncing, and misunderstanding their own inventions:
    Édouard-Léon Scott de Martinville invented the phonograph but called it the “phonautograph”
    Elisha Gray invented the telephone but called it the “acoustic telegraph”
    Lauren Asplund at Bell Labs included # and * on telephone keypads but called them “octothorp” and “sextile”.
    Karl Benz invented the automobile but called it a “motorwagen”
    Nicola Tesla invented the electric motor and called it…”electric motor” …but come on, he was Serbian and he probably had an accent. (Interesting trivia: today’s electric motors are basically unchanged from his original 1888 design.)
    Morrison & Franscioni invented the frisbee but called it a Whirlo-Way. Or a Flyin-Saucer. Or a Pluto-Platter. Or…oh never mind.

    Anyway png is a better graphics format in several ways than gif. Just ignore anybody who tries to pronounce it “ping”.

    • There are people who email me and tell me they don’t care what I write about as long as there is a comment from you. On days like today, I agree with them.

      • The conversational aspect of this blog is unusual. It’s not exactly a chat room, but it’s definitely more than your average blog. It’s more like I imagine a “salon” would be; you set up a discussion and it goes from there.

        This is the closest I’ve ever seen to the ideas I tried to design into “Pooh’s Corner”, a BBS I designed and hosted in the late 70s and early 80s. That was where my original multiuser games came from, too. Unfortunately my business sense lives on Neptune; I made mutliuser games in the days when modems cost $1200 and you had to pay for multiple phone lines *and* a modem for each one in order to host such a game.

        • The people who comment on this blog amaze me, too. I’ve always wanted to run a salon, but the time I tried, it was in real life and didn’t work–people had book club, they didn’t want to discuss the specific topic–and online, that all goes away. I’ve accidentally created something quite wonderful and I’m loving it. Yeah, my business sense is on Neptune, too. They should visit each other. A writer friend and I wrote the Divorce Workbook–a funny, snarky book on dealing with your own divorce–many years ago. No publisher would touch it. They told us that divorce was not to be taken lightly, that we were encouraging people to get divorced–all the usual objections. We even had divorce cards. Now, of course, there are tons of cards and funny workshops and events. We are just ahead of our time, Pete. Neptune time.

    • Ah Pete! I love reading your comments. Like a lighted candle they brighten the scene and yet I can never be sure where the wax is going to drip! Thanks.

      • That candle uncertainty is just the thing that keeps the professional candle dribbler employed. “You don’t think that Wizards’ candles dribble and gutter so wonderfully well on their own do you?” (Terry Pratchett)

  3. Fascinating links. Thanks so much for sharing.

Join the conversation

