Saturday Creative Love

No-fat potato chip.

No-fat potato chip.

Creativity can come in many styles, including cooking. Potato chips are not on any of my menus anymore, until Cooking Man made me some. He sliced washed, raw potatoes on a mandolin, soaked them in cold water, spread them on a paper towel, and cooked them in the microwave. Presto, amazing potato chips! No fat, low calorie and even low carb, as long as I don’t eat a bag full. He got the recipe from another blog, and am I glad! Here is an extra:  low-carb, gluten-free chewy almond bars. I’ve made them twice and they are delish!

Joshua Katz noticed that even though we have cable TV and hear each others languages, we in the U.S. still have different words for the same thing and different pronunciations. So he made 22 maps for different words pronounced different ways. They are fascinating to look at, particularly if you feel strongly about how the word “caramel” is pronounced.

Paddi McDonnell did an article on typographic art. I love typographic art–the subtlety, the cleverness. The portraits (scroll down on the link) are really well done.

BrussPup’s  YouTube channel is a mix of art and sound. He sprinkles sand onto a metal plate and connects it to a speaker that plays various frequencies. The sand vibrates and moves to areas of no frequency (so no shaking) and fascinating patterns are formed.

Mircea Popescu does linocuts. That’s sort of like saying that Bach wrote some music. Her linocuts are so complicated, it is difficult to imagine how she does them, and how she keeps track of the layers. Or the lines.

Have a creative weekend!

–Quinn McDonald is chief curiosity officer of QuinnCreative.

8 responses to “Saturday Creative Love

  1. Quinn, you always find such interesting items for our Saturday journeys.A lot of things do not get done once I open your e-mail. I have been making microwave potato chips for quite a while. There is a little tray that you can buy to stand them all up on edge while you microwave them. I did want to point out that he probably did use a mandoline to slice the potatoes not a mandolin…

    • I hadn’t seen the tray to put them on edge–of course, we could make MORE that way at once! Thanks for pointing out the perceived typo. I actually checked this one before I put it up, because I wasn’t sure. Mandoline, with an without an “e” both considered standard spellings by Merriam-Webster. But I do make typos, and appreciate an email to help me fix them.

      • I guess I should have checked, also, but I just read the ad at the link and jumped to conclusions. :-)

  2. Love the typographic art. I have always fiddled with type! Some of my best work has been in type.

    The microwave? Really?

    • Yep, the microwave And they are super crisp. Taste like they have been fried in fat. But they have not. Microwave (mine, anyway) takes 7 minutes on full power. Your results may vary.

  3. Dear Chief Curiosity Officer,
    Back in the day when I worked at Apple, you could pick whatever title you wanted for your business cards. Some of my favorites were:
    Chief Toymaster (ran the competitive analysis lab)
    My Panties Are In A Bunch (project manager)
    Pinball Wizard (we had pinball machines and the like)
    11001011 (I don’t remember the exact sequence)

    • You must have gone through a lot of business cards! I love the idea of picking your own title–which, as I own the company, I can do, too. But all my choices have been semi-serious. I don’t have a big, recognizable logo on my card. I love “My panties are in a bunch.”

Join the conversation

