Art At the Speed of Life. Book Giveaway

creating-art-at-the-speed-of-lifePam Carriker is more than busy, she is a force of creativity. And her new book, Creating Art at the Speed of Life, leads you in 30 days of mixed media exploration and experimentation.

It’s a workshop in a book. There are not only exercises, there are worksheets that help you stay focused and on course. The book has 172 pages and is divided into seven chapters covering:

  • color
  • texture
  • shape
  • visual perspective
  • form
  • line
  • light and dark

CarrikerWhen describing the reason she wrote the book, Pam writes, “Assessing your own work is something that can be learned and is an invaluable tool to move yourself further down your creative path. The 30 lessons in this book are grouped into chapters that each focus on a different element of art.”

The art is designed to be kept in a journal you assemble yourself. The lessons are laid out in class fashion, each with a syllabus called a “Quick Look.” At the end of each chapter there is an “Open Studio” section where you can see artwork from contributors, including Seth Apter, Jill K. Berry, Chris Cozen, Jane LaFazio, and Joanne Sharpe.

There are tips throughout, everything from keeping your painted pages flat to making easy transfers. Throughout the book, you get Pam’s help, advice, and instructions. The purpose of the book is to create confident artists, and Pam does a great job by keeping the steps small enough to ensure success while still being interesting and experimental. There is plenty of room to grow in your own direction.

Giveaway: leave a comment if you’d like to win the book. The winner will be announced in Sunday’s blog. Be sure to check back on Sunday to see if you won–the winner will need to send me a shipping address.  Have fun!

Note: Congratulations to Anne Cross, who is the winner of the giveaway of Pam Carriker’s Creating Art at the Speed of Life. Contact me (right above the color header) and send me your mailing address, and the book will be on the way!

Disclaimer: Pam Carriker sent me the book as a gift. I couldn’t help sharing it for the great projects and wonderful inspiration of the contributors.

-Quinn McDonald loves creative ideas–other’s as well as her own. She is also a book junky.

57 responses to “Art At the Speed of Life. Book Giveaway

  1. Golly–talk about the speed of life! Yeah, that’s mine right now. I’d love this!

  2. Oooooh……Pam’s book looks awesome! Would LOVE to win it! Waving both hands, jumping up and down and tripping over myself. :-)

  3. I just borrowed this book from the library and I love it! I would love to own a copy of it Count me in!

  4. Oh. The book looks fabulous I would love a chance to win. Looks bursting with inspiration and ideas.

  5. Oh boy, another must have book. I love fellow art book junkies! Thanks for the opportunity to win a new fun book.

  6. Grasp the principles
    Add in a few elements
    Pam makes it easy.

  7. Oh I haven’t read any of her books yet, thanks Quinn for doing a giveaway! Take care!

  8. I too am a book junkie! And I would love to win a copy of this book. I have heard wonderful things about it and have been waiting for the right time to get it. Hopefully, I will have the luck to win the book here. Cheers and good luck to everyone!

  9. Oh it looks wonderful! Thanks for the opportunity to be in the running for the prize! Fingers and toes crossed.

  10. Uh oh! I can’t see my comment! :-( I would love to add this book to my art library. Thanks for the chance to win! Hope my comment shows up this time.

  11. I have Pam’s other book, “Art at the Speed of Life”, and I really like it. I have had this one on my wish list since I first heard about it awhile back, but have not seen one in the bookstore. I would love to add this to my art library. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

  12. Hi Quinn! If, by chance, my name is drawn – would you please give it to some wonderfully deserving artist or artist-wanna-be that you know. I already have a copy :-) and would love to see someone else also benefiting from this wonderful book.

  13. Pam’s work is wonderful-nice of her to give you a book to give away to us!

  14. I would love a chance to win this book.
    Charlene

  15. Looks like a great book.

  16. Looks exactly like what I need to get back to my “roots” – as I have been trying to extricate myself from my entangled focus on a certain medium – but I’ve gotten so deep into the vines that I’m not sure how to get back. Maybe my watercolor pencils and inks can live again! And the washi tape – the glorious colors and widths – and the artbars!

  17. Rhonda on Purpose

    This looks so exciting. Have recently started doing mixed media. Such great opportunity for expression and life. This looks like an wonderful book.

  18. Sounds like a super book… I could use the influence of Pam’s creative juices.

  19. I think this may be what I’ve been looking for to get me started. Count me in. Thanks! :)

  20. i would love to work with this book. i have no internet at home so i can’t participate in any online workshops!

  21. Thank you for writing about this book. I’ve looked at it, but wasn’t sure if it was good–or exactly what it was all about. Thanks also for the chance to win a copy!

  22. It sounds like the perfect book for someone like me. I need the occasional kick in the pants and some guidance in new (to me) techniques. Although I love to play and explore a little structure would be valuable. I think my precocious 6 and 9 year-old grandheARTists might like it too!

  23. Love Pam and her work! Would love to own her new book. Thanks for the opportunity! Peace

  24. dancinghairwoman

    Me too! Me too! Me too! With summer vacation just around the corner and a houseful of book and art enthusiasts this book sounds like a winner.
    And I love Jane LaFazio. Devon is working on a garden journal. She is so full of inspiration! Love that she is a part of this book.

  25. oh dear, i’m not seeing my comment….will try one more time. sorry if i’m doing something wrong. (i would love to win this book)

    • It’s visible now, Jenny. Sometimes WordPress can go wonky. It’s Matt’s fault. (Matt is the CEO and inventor of WordPress. And when you fill out a complaint form, that’s the reply you get. “It’s Matt’s fault.”) It always makes me laugh. But you are in the drawing.

  26. I have heard about this book but have yet to run across a copy! Thanks for passing along such a treasure!

  27. Oooh, I love art books! Count me in!

  28. ohhh how very generous of you to do this book as a giveaway. i would be thrilled to be picked!

  29. I really need this book! Please enter me in the giveaway. I love your blog, it is always a part of my morning.

  30. Thank you for this giveaway. I have had this on my wish list.

  31. Thanks for the chance to win this book. It has been on my wish list for a while now.

  32. I would love to win this book. It would make me do my happy dance. You don’t want to see me do my sad dance, do you?

  33. I keep forgetting to go find this book, I love her first one so much and am even more excited about this one! Thanks.

  34. Confidence is not something I have around my art. This book sounds like it could be a great addition to my personal library, I will be searching it out.

  35. I have been looking at this book for a bit now. Would love to win it!
    Thanks for the opportunity.

  36. Wow! So many great contributors! I’d love my name in the pot!

  37. Quinn, your blog is the first email I open everyday. Your inspiration sets the tone for my day. From one book junkie to another, this looks like one I really need. I need to add some speed & confidence to my “arting”.

  38. I would enjoy this book tremendously!

  39. Love your generous spirit in sharing your ideas, your own creativity, and giving away a book I’d love to have a copy of. I look forward to seeing your blog in my inbox, Quinn! Thanks.

  40. Thank you for sharing…not just books. Your readers appreciate your generous and thoughtful insights about art, creativity, and life! Blessings,
    Pam

  41. I love reading your blog, Quinn! Such creativity & inspiration – would love to win the book!

  42. from one book junkie to another, would love to win this book.

  43. What a prize to win this book!!! Thank you for helping us who want to learn everything about art. I would love to own this book!!

  44. I checked this book out at my local library and knew immediately this was one I wanted to keep. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!!

  45. I love your blog. You are one of my daily reads and I would love to win Pam’s book.

  46. I would love to be the lucky one to win this book!

  47. Oh, I would love to win this book! Thank you so much!

  48. I’m really just a beginner so I would love to win this book.

  49. I would so enjoy a copy of this guide! Thanks!

  50. Denise Spillane

    Hi, love your blog. I would love to win Pam’s book!

  51. I would love to become a confident artist, so if this book can help with that, I need a copy.
    Karen

Join the conversation

