Creative Stroll 3.29.14

Much as I love the desert, I miss fireflies from back East. So when I saw how Vincent Brady had spend months photographing fireflies at Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, I was enchanted.

Here is the video of several timed photographs.

And here is a great still from the series, “Firefly Planet” by Vincent Brady:

bradyphotography4

From the small bits of light, we back up and take a look at houses making patterns across what used to be a natural landscape. The photographs are from The Big Picture column from The Boston.com website.

 Circular layouts of homes near I-75, southwest of Fort Myers, Florida. Map. (© Google)

Circular layouts of homes near I-75, southwest of Fort Myers, Florida. Map. (© Google)

While this pattern looks like vines and flowers, there are others that look considerably more uncomfortable.

Part of Verona Walk, a gated community in Naples, Florida. Map. (© Google)

Part of Verona Walk, a gated community in Naples, Florida. Map. (© Google)

While I was flying over Nebraska last week, I saw, through thin clouds, acres of irrigation circles. A different look, but also an example of geometric precision.

photo

Continuing with the natural world (sort of), Johannas Stötter paints animals. Not on paper or canvas, nope. He paints animals on humans, who look like animals when he is done. Below is not a parrot, but a human being painted to look like a parrot.

parrot-body-painting-by-johannes-stotter-1Luckily, the paint allows the skin to function, so the long process isn’t harmful. If you look closely, you’ll see a woman sitting on the post, one leg uplled up (to make the wing), one arm lifted over hear head, (to form the parrot’s beak).

Check out the five-person frog and how it was done on his website.

Have a wildly creative weekend!

Quinn McDonald still misses fireflies. But now she has a video to watch when she misses them too much.

 

 

9 responses to “Creative Stroll 3.29.14

  1. Nice photos! In addition to missing fireflys, I also miss the colors of fall.

  2. wonderful what folks with imagination can achieve, eh?

  3. I had no idea that fireflies were an eastern phenomenon. And unfortunately they are dwindling here. My yard used to have many during June and July. The past several years they have been fewer and fewer. I don’t think I saw more than two all last summer.

  4. Sorry Quinn. In my excitement to share with my daughter I mistakenly hit reply instead of forward. Thank you for sharing.

    >

  5. It reminds me of the art exhibit you attended

    >

  6. What an inspiring way to start my day! Thank you Quinn and Good Morning!

Join the conversation

