String of Words.

Note: Congratulations to Anne Cross, who is the winner of the giveaway of Pam Carriker’s Creating Art at the Speed of Life. Contact me (right above the color header) and send me your mailing address, and the book will be on the way!

*  *  *  *

quote-a-book-of-quotations-can-never-be-complete-robert-m-hamilton-283470Coming across a sentence that lights up a page is one of the joys of reading. I’ve come to a complete stop (to hell with the plot and characters)  and read a sentence over again several times. Then I’ll highlight it or mark it. When I’m done reading the book, I’ll go through it looking at the highlighted sentence again. Sometimes, I have no idea why I loved them. Those I let go.

Ahhh, but sometimes, they are perfect. They hold a speck of wisdom like a drop of water in a curled leaf. Unexpected, sparkling. I began collecting quotes and sentences from books.  I often take them to art classes, because they make wonderful words to add to collages and journals.

Often, I’ll pick a quote at random and start writing about it. I’ll have different takes on different days. I’m surprised at what I find in myself.

6a013485f24774970c01901b624f54970b-piWant to start keeping your own quote pages? I’ll help you get started. You can add even more by looking up any of the people you don’t know.

“How strange that the nature of life is change, yet the nature of human beings is to resist change. And how ironic that the difficult times we fear might ruin us are the very ones that can break us open and help us blossom into who we were meant to be.” — Elizabeth Lesser

“Stop comparing your insides to other people’s outsides. Remember, they’re doing the same thing.”  —Martha Beck

“You know what? People can take a lot from you. They can take away everything except your mind and your heart. Those things you have to give away. I decided not to give them away, and neither should you.” — Nelson Mandela, explaining how he overcame his bitterness, hatred, and resentment

“We’re all just walking each other home.”  –Ram Dass

“The true meaning of life is to plant trees under whose shade you do not expect to sit.” –Nelson Henderson

“I beg you to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a foreign language. Don’t search for the answers which would not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.” — Rainer Maria Rilke

Quinn McDonald is in love with words. And today’s blog post is brought to you by her word of 2014, Scatter.

10 responses to “String of Words.

  1. I do love quotes and write them on little scraps of paper. Keeping them in a designated journal would be a so much better idea ;-) What wisdom from the Nelson Mandela quote and the quote from Nelson Henderson took a while to sink in but what a testimony to sending goodness out into the world and not expecting anything in return. Rumi says, “Has the sun ever said to the Earth, ‘You owe me….’.”

  2. I love quotes so much that almost every piece of art on my walls has words of one kind or another. Some of them are just words. I get my sister to make vinyl stickers of the ones I like the best and I put them onto painted canvas and hang them on the wall. My favourite one at the moment is in my dining room/library, “She reads books as one would breathe air, to fill up and live.” – Annie Dillard. Isn’t that just perfect?

  3. I love quotes too and keep a book in which I note down quotes, poems and even glue down images that speak to me!
    I added your quotes today and shall make some research on the authors I am not familiar with. Thank you!

    P.S.: I am always looking forward to the little resume you give of yourself on the end of your blog posts!

  4. Great quotes have some kind of magic. Like poetry, they speak to me in a different way, and often I hear what I would otherwise miss. Thanks for these.

  5. I, like you, love quotes and words and find wonderful thoughts written every where. I keep files of them in my computer. I do use them in my art journaling that you have me hooked on Quinn! Thank you.

    • Using quotes to art journal is one of my favorite things. I love coming across a long-forgotten quote on a page. Always lifts my heart. And with your fabulous color sense, Lynne, you will make fabulous books!

Join the conversation

