Daily Archives: February 13, 2012

Loose Leaf Art Journal Holder

My studio is slowly filling with loose leaf journal pages while I experiment with them–exploring ways to store them, to hold them, to contain and organize them.

While I love the three-ring binder approach, I don’t want to automatically assume I’ll put three holes in each sheet. So I’m holding some of them until I am certain I want to do that.

How am I holding them? Well, in accordion folders with pockets, and as of tonight, in a holder I made by recycling a lentil-envelope holder.

There was something about the compact shape and the clever use of corrugated cardboard in the box. The corrugation holds the loose leaf pages just perfectly.

The transformation started with a visit to the VSNA book sale today. I picked up several Atlases to use the maps as background paper. I also picked up some books in foreign languages, dictionaries, and math books for background papers.

Next, a coat of gesso to cover up the nature of the box. I didn’t paint the corrugated cardboard because I like the way it looks. Painting it is only going to make it look like painted-something-it’s-not.

Covering the box with map pieces gives it a whole new lease on life. The color and the idea that the cards represent a new world of thought is a perfect connection.

The corrugated cardboard is fit back into the box, and the loose leaf pages fit perfectly.

I love this card. It shows four circles of mica on dark blue and gold monsoon papers. It represents time changes as shown in the phases of the moon–as the shadow of the earth changes its shape. The back of the card says, “Our shadow changes the shape of the moon from a sliver crescent to a disk of light floating through the stars. It is not the moon that changes; it is our perspective of the moon.”

I’ll be teaching a class on making these cards, including monsoon papers and a holder for them on May 5-6 at Valley Ridge Art Center. The class will include sessions on intuitive, soul-deep writing. It will be quite an experience.

--Quinn McDonald is a writer and artist with an ink-stained soul. She is the author of Raw Art Journaling: Making Meaning, Making Art.