This, Too, Shall Pass

On a recent walk, I had an understanding. Maybe you have known it for a long time. I just got it, and thought it worth sharing.

Often, I’ve thought that anger, frustration, irritation, impatience, and similar emotions are bad. I want to experience joy, peace, living in the moment, and general goodwill.

Difficult times make me wonder what I did wrong to deserve them. And then I think, “Well, this, too, shall pass.” And eventually it does.

Here’s the understanding I had on the walk: All emotions are just that–emotions. They are neither good nor bad. Without sorrow, it would be impossible to understand joy. Without anger, it would be hard to work toward peace. We need it all, we need to experience it all, we need to live through it all to experience a whole life. Trying to get rid of a “bad” emotion is no better than clinging to a “good” emotion. That was the first part.

And what followed was this–those happy times? That fun? That peaceful moment? That, too, shall pass.

The passing of an emotion isn’t reserved for one kind of emotion, situation or event. It applies to all. The happy event will be over. The anger will fade. This, too, shall pass.