Looking for Answers with a Stop-Watch

We wake up in a hurry.

Time flies. Photo my janussyndicate.com

We talk fast.

We walk quickly,  looking ahead.

The speed limit doesn’t count if we don’t go more than 10 miles faster.

Work is done against the clock. Hurry and learn. Hurry and finish.

Don’t think, it takes time.

Fast is good. Time is money.

Got a problem? Fix it fast or blame it on someone else.

Stop. Just stop.

Breathe.

This is the only September minute you will ever have. Don’ t rush it.

Copy this poem by Rainer Maria Rilke into your journal and read it till you know it is true:

Have patience with everything unresolved
in your heart
and try to love the questions themselves
Don’t search for the answers.
They could not be given to you now.
Because you would not be able to live them.
And the point is, to live everything.
Live the questions now.
Perhaps then, someday in the future,
you will gradually, without even noticing it,
live your way into the answer.

—Quinn McDonald is a slow learner, and she’s not sorry about that.

22 thoughts on “Looking for Answers with a Stop-Watch

  1. Love this……it so fits right now.
    Can I read this at our PaperWorks meeting on Thursday? (and give you and Rainer Maria credit, of course!)

  2. Hello! I just discovered your blog, and what a fabulous post to read – am so with you with the taking things slow mentality. I think thoughtfulness (actually being in this moment) and simplicity are aspects of life to be developed and cherished – and in this crazy high speed world we all need reminders to breathe 😉

  3. Having just completed 6 months of retirement (HOOOOOORRRRRRRRAY!) I find myself having to slow down, as I no longer need to rush here, there and everywhere. One thing that I have noticed is the speed limit thing! I am consciously MAKING myself go the speed limit and trying to slow down. Thanks for codifying my underlying feelings!

  4. Quinn
    Monday morning just began with a wonderful daily blog from Quinn.. words to remind me to breathe, and deeply, and often…and a poem, now on the page of my “journal of notes” where I write throughout the day; the painted, sketched, “art journal” has its own time each day; the “journal of notes” has gems I re-read and use to stimulate the drawing/sketching self or a prompt to begin a timed writing session. This poem of Rilke is delicious. Thank you for your gift of just what I needed to keep my eye on what matters most today and enjoy the journey with a deep breath and a peaceful heart.
    Kristin

Join the conversation

