Quotations for Thursday

We are celebrating family, and spent half the night talking. So, some quotes to keep the cheer going:

Migrating Birds

Migrating birds via MyOpera.com

The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life.   — Jessica Hische

It takes courage to be an artist. Twice. First, it takes courage to bring a vision into the physical realm. Then it takes courage to show it to the world.       –Serena Kovalosky

We must use what we have  to invent what we desire.  –-Adrienne Rich

Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself.    –Harvey Fierstein

 

13 thoughts on “Quotations for Thursday

  1. We have a quote on our living room wall that fits this post today….
    “We create our tomorrows by what we dream today.”
    I don’t know who should get the credit for it.
    I believe in staying busy. Procrastination is not one of my words….contemplation is though. :grins: I often contemplate over my morning tea which is also when I read my “Quinn of the Day”.
    Thanks for the thought provoking quotes.

  2. Thank you for these quotes; some spoke right to the places opened and written on the page this morning. Once again your daily gift was just exactly what my spirit was calling for.

  3. as my old mentor says… never, never, never, give up (paraphrased) Winston Churchill. You gotta keep on keeping on, and yes, some of the work that I do while procrastinating is some of my best

  4. Oops… the year is already 3 days old and I’m still not used to it – I was planning to visit several blogfriends right on the first day you know… aarghhh… but here I am, wishing you a healthy, warm, loving and creative New Year!!

  5. Now wouldn’t procrastination be a word for the year? Taking a journey into ourselves and discovering what qualities and talents are already there and waiting to be discovered, instead of consciously trying to paste a new set of values on top of whomever we already are?
    I’ve always felt that when we procrastinate, there is generally a good reason for us not to do something at that particular time. Its our subconscious speaking to us and telling us something is wrong. Perhaps we aught to listen to it more and find out what it really says about ourselves. Or is this idea too right-brained to make sense?

    • I think that’s a great idea! To focus on our uncertainty, on our passions and dreams and to discover, if we are lucky, what they are and how we could fulfill them. I think you’re right and it’s not too right-brained: I’m sure there always is a reason for procrastinating though it might not always be one that we assume or think it to be. Sure we sometimes need to push through the feeling and get the job done but a little bit of mindful attention on the feeling would not harm us. I think that could well my word for the year.

    • Procrastinate can be a great word for you. As a recovering perfectionist, it reminds me that I often hesitate or make excuses not to send in my art or articles. Words are so personal!

Join the conversation

