Bread for Diabetics

A few days ago, I saw a recipe for a loaf of bread that was vegan, gluten-free and made with seeds and nuts. It sounded yummy, but a bit severe.  I wondered if I could make some changes and keep it delicious for diabetics, too. After baking the original and making several changes, here’s what I came up with.

loafCutEndIngredients:

  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds (don’t use whole seeds, you can’t digest them)
  • 1/ cup hazelnuts. (You can substitute almonds or walnuts)
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats (6-grain, whole-grain mix is OK, no steel-cut oats)
  • 1/4 cup dried apricots or dried black figs
  • 2 Tsp. chia seeds
  • 4 Tbsp. psyllium seed husks
  • 1 tsp. fine grain sea salt
  • 3 T coconut nectar or agave syrup
  • 3 T butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1-1/2 cups milk

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Chop hazelnuts and dried fruit into a rough chop. Combine all dry ingredients and fruit in a large bowl. In a medium saucepan, heat milk, vanilla and butter until the butter melts. You do not want to boil the milk. Allow to cool until the mixture is below 110 degrees F.

Loaf1Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. If mixture becomes too thick to stir, add a tablespoon of water at a time. Pour the mixture into a greased loaf pan. Let sit for two hours. You can also make this in the evening and leave it in the fridge overnight.

Bake bread for 20 minutes, then remove bread from pan, place the bare loaf upside down, directly on the oven rack, bake for another 30 to 40 minutes until it sounds hollow when tapped. Let cool completely before slicing.

It’s not a bread that can be used for sandwiches, but it is great with cream cheese, or with gruyere melted onto it. Also good plain or with nut butter.

* * *
No, I’m not starting to write a food blog. But I’ve found very few really good diabetic breads or snacks. Creativity includes cooking and self care.

Quinn McDonald misses cinnamon rolls more than anything else, but is getting over it.

16 thoughts on “Bread for Diabetics

  1. Pingback: The Basic Recipe | QuinnCreative

  2. Have you tried rye bread and I mean the real thing made of 100% rye? They more often than not add some wheat into rye so most rye breads are actually mixed grain bread. We have her in Finland a lots of diabetics (both types) and rye is the recommended type of cereal here. It has more or less the same amount of carbohydrates as wheat or oats but its GI-index is low and it also slows down the intake of other carbs. Plus it has lots of dietary fibers. Plus there is nothing better that piping hot rye bread (either freshly baker or toasted) and some real butter. Yummy!

    But these seed and nuts breads are super good too! I might have to try yours. 🙂

    • You are right about our rye bread having wheat mixed in. I am fine with wheat, I do not have a gluten sensitivity at all. But wheat has a high carb index. I’ve never thought of making rye bread myself. I have not found pure rye flour either (I was looking for it the other day), but this sounds yummy. What do they use for sugar in commercial rye bread? They usually add molasses here, another thing I can’t eat.

      • You can get lot’s of different kinds of rye bread here. One is just like toast, soft and all, but its still made of 100% rye. Most have some wheat in them as rye is always a little bit more expensive that other cereals because it is rather hard to grow, but there are always some 100% ones available. Most Finnish types of rye breads don’t have almost any added sugars or molasses in them which means they are kind of sour rather than sweet. And I don’t think you can get anything but pure rye flours here. 🙂 The thing is, to make rye bread you either need to use yeast or sourdough to get the process going (using yeast is considered cheating by most true fans). Using sourdough means that making the bread takes a bit longer but it really pays off taste-wise. I remember my aunt making a half a barrel-full of dough that took a full day to rise and another to bake and she baked them in a wood-heated stone oven. 🙂 Boy, was that good.

        But the amazing thing is that you can get authentic Finnish rye bread in New York AND its pure rye. And they deliver by post. A BIT expensive considering what bread costs here, though. Check it out: http://www.nordicbreads.com/ and there are others too if you google Finnish rye bread. And anyway, I’m sure we can arrange something. 😉

        • My mom used to make rye bread–she made all our bread. The sourdough starter makes sense. We used to eat it with fresh butter (we lived rurally) and radishes from our garden. YUM!The link you gave said they delivered to Whole Foods, and there is one in this area. Worth checking out! Thanks, that would bring back a lot of taste and good memories.

          • Let me know how it tastes if you get some. 🙂 And then there is this crispbread, Ryvita, which is also 100% rye and rather good – if you like crispbread: http://www.ryvita.com/en-ca/products/crispbread/dark-rye It’s a big company so you might be able to find their products more easily. Their other products seem interesting too, like the sesame rye which also contains just rye and sesame seeds! I will have to try to find that somewhere and taste it. 😀

          • I’m a huge fan of crispbread, because I can often have two pieces and some fruit for a snack. The crunchy texture makes me feel like I’m eating something worthwhile and the fiber makes me feel like I can last to the next meal. I’ve tried every crispbread I can find, and of course my favorite is the one that has the least fiber and most carbs! I am a true carb addict. But I really want to find the true rye bread with sourdough starter.

    • Steel cut oats are very healthy. The rolled oats are for texture and substance. Using steel cut oats will make the bread much denser, and it’s already super-dense. You don’t want to have to cut it with a band saw. That’s why I substituted the whole-grain six-grain breakfast mix. It was bulky, but not so dense.

    • Paleo diets aren’t for diabetics. The combination of honey and sugar (both fast-acting carbs and killers for sugar addicts) and tapioca (also a fast carb) make these a “not for me.” As a sugar addict I cannot eat any sugar or sugar substitute because it triggers unmanageable spikes in my blood sugar (and in my brain, and then I have to start all over again with withdrawal.) The one sugar I have discovered that is a slow carb and doesn’t spike my blood sugar is coconut nectar. And even that has to be used in small amounts.

      • I’m a Paleo Type II Diabetic Quin. I haven’t conquered my sugar addiction, but I seldom give in to it these days.

        I regard things like ‘bread’ as a ‘treat food’, not an everyday staple. When I bake, I tend to use sweet potato (kumara) as the main ingredient, which doesn’t need any extra sweetener.

        I’m intolerant to all grains, FODMAPS, lactose and various other things. I follow a near-ketogenic Auto Immune Protocol food plan. This has brought my weight and blood sugars right down. I’ve pretty much swapped healthy fats (for me, grass fed butter, as I’m intolerant to avocado) for sugars.

        Good luck with however you choose to eat.
        blessings
        sue:)

          • Haven’t tried the cinnamon buns. I tend to find that a tablespoon or two of honey, spread thru a recipe that I only eat a tiny piece of at a time, doesn’t tend to do much harm. And because I’ve lost so much of my sweet tooth, I don’t even contemplate licking the spoon clean anymore, lol.

            It’s actually other foods in the fodmaps group that tend to be more problematical – like onions, beetroot and nightshades.

Join the conversation

