Get It Done: Book Review (and a Giveaway)

What better day than Valentine’s Day to love yourself enough to give yourself the creative help you need to finish your work? Creative people are wired differently and see the world a bit differently–but the one thing they have in common with every other person is a lack of time to work on projects that are due, projects that sound like fun, and projects that need to be explored.

SamRt443-199x300Sam Bennett created the Organized Artist Company and she wrote a book that is part coaching, part time management, and part kick in the butt. Get It Done, from Procrastination to Creative Genius in 15 Minutes a Day is a book with suggestions, how-tos, and clever ideas to help anyone (but especially artists) choose their work, get their work done in a time frame (by working 15 concentrated minutes a day), and complete their work.

Here’s are some chapter titles:

  • Procrastination is Genius in Disguise
  • Which of Your 37 Projects to Tackle First
  • Overcoming Perfectionism
  • How to Do Your Could-Do List
  • Where Will You Find the Time?
  • Organizing Your Space
  • Why Is It So Awful When Everyone Thinks You are So Wonderful?
  • Do You Quit When You’re Almost Done?

When you read Bennett’s book, you know she is an artist, has been in your shoes, and can teach you how to dance in them–backwards–to success. Her worksheets are realistic, her steps doable and her process powerful.

sambennett-412fab8b-eff5-4bda-bf24-8f7aa46f6602-v2The book is a fast read but one you will want to concentrate on to overcome perfectionism and the destructive procrastination that goes hand-in-hand with it. She’s knows art is important to culture, supports the necessity for excellent work, but won’t let you ruin your success with senselessly chasing perfection.

It’s 204 pages that are packed with good advice, success stories, and real help.

Giveaway: I’ll be giving away this copy. so leave a comment for a chance to win. The drawing will be random. And the winner will be announced on Monday’s blog. Stop by and see if you were the lucky one!

Disclosure: The book was sent to me for review from New World Library. I did not purchase the book I read. However, I did purchase one after I read it, as I’m giving away the original.

Quinn McDonald is a creativity coach who will be using some of the ideas in this book in combination with the ideas in The Inner Hero Creative Art Journal.

72 thoughts on “Get It Done: Book Review (and a Giveaway)

  1. That would be a very helpful book for me. Lately I have been reading time management books, but I had never seen a time management book especially for creative people. I keep my fingers crossed…

  2. Hope I’m not too late to get in on the giveaway fun. This sounds like information that could really help me. Thanks for the giveaway Quinn, and for all your book reviews. The last book you reviewed by Denise Jaden is sitting in my cart at Amazon until I’ve saved up enough to order it there or get to a local bookseller.

  3. This is very timely for me. I am a potter who likes to sketch. I own a gallery that represents over 35 artists. With that ownership, I do all of the marketing, accounting, cleaning, displaying, shipping, plus my own ceramics. With it being tax season, I am feeling overwhelmed.

  4. Ask me what my number one skill is & I would answer ‘procrastination’. I spend so much time sitting & thinking about what I want do/create & in the end nothing very much happens. I’m going to put this book on my Amazon wish list….. And thank you for the chance to win.

  5. Thank you for posting about this book–I’ve procrastinated on creative projects for way too long, and would love to read what Sam Bennett has to say about overcoming perfectionistic tendencies.

  6. You once used the phrase ‘monkey mind’. I now find myself in the monkey mind mode often, time used up by dinky tasks that leave no time for ART. Sounds like a good book to pull me up out of the sea of to-do next.

  7. Oooh, I would love to win this giveaway. Downloaded the sample to read on my pc and it’s tres interesting. Thanks for the opportunity, Quinn, and Happy Valentine’s Day! xoxo, Aimeslee

  8. I once cracked up an entire room when I innocently announced that I had a lot to do and would get to it as soon as I read more of my book on stopping procrastination. I still need help!

  9. This sounds so like something I need to practice. I would love to win the book but in the meantime I believe I may be able to work at those 15 minute blocks. At this point I have nothing to lose! 🙂

  10. I need this! I am the Queen of Procrastination!! Quinn, I so enjoyed your class and am so looking forward to your presentation at Scottsdale Artists League!

  11. I think she may have been looking over my shoulder when she wrote this book! Glad I found your blog Quinn–remembered your name from a postcard exchange last year. Happy Valentine’s Day, too 🙂

  12. I would love to win this, not for myself, but as a gift for my husband, who knows where he wants to be, artistically, but struggles with finding and scheduling time to do it.

  13. This is just what I need. How to focus and actually get something do instead of being overwhelmed by the possibilities. Have to get a copy of this book!

  14. Sounds like a great book! I think I need it! I joined your blog yesterday so this is my first post from you. I already know I’ll totally enjoy it! Thanks for more inspiration and tips

  15. So, this is something I really need. 15 minutes a day? Really? I can do that. Love all your posts but this one called my name!

Join the conversation

