Creativity Hop: May 24, 2014

Note: Kaisa  Mäki-Petäjä is part of a blog hop I mentioned on last Monday.  She is a natural historian, and has posted the answers to the blog hop questions.Take a peek at her blog as the blog hop passes through Finland.

*  *  *

There are many ways to be an artist. Today’s selection includes unusual sculptor and two (very different) photographers.

John Lopez is a bronze sculptor; when his aunt died, he took a break to help his uncle find balance. John decided to build a cemetery near his uncle’s house in Western South Dakota.

artist John Lopez South DakotaHe started on the fence, and before he was through, he was out of supplies. His uncle was a welder, so John began looking through the scrap pile. By the time he finished the fence and gate, he had created a new art form: scrap-metal welding combined with custom bronze cast pieces. A whole new twist on mixed media.

Peacock made entirely of silverware. © John Lopez Photo credit: Markus Erk.

Seven-foot Peacock made entirely of silverware. © John Lopez                              Photo credit: Markus Erk.

From John Lopez’s bio:

Sometimes the young artist is asked what he imagines his grandfather, the pioneer stockman, Albert Lopez, would have thought of his scrap-iron sculpture. Perhaps the best answer was given by another old-timer, who came to one of his exhibits. The old gentleman spent considerable time peering intently at a scrap metal saddle. After long study, he announced, “Now that’s art!”

Detail of flatware peacock.

Detail of flatware peacock.

Spanish artist García de Marina recreates ordinary objects into other ordinary objects; it’s the sense of humor that creates his story.

garcia_de_Marina_02-565x403de Marina says, “They are very simple images. I try to create images that are easy to understand-and that hopefully don’t need any kind of explanations. I want to make an impact, give my viewers a little surprise. I hope that they will inquire more, and do further examinations.”

Garcia_de_Marina_01-565x790The juxtaposition of familiar objects into different context is both interesting and clever.

Steve Axford is an Australian artists who photographs the tiny–fungus. The delicate detail shows the beauty we miss when we wrinkle up our noses and classify all fungus as “eww.”

axford-5In his bio, Axford writes, “My photography has been my avenue into this world as it slows me down and allows me to look at things more closely.  Most of my photography is still pictures, as you will mostly see on this site.

Lichen, photograph by Steve Axford.

Lichen, photograph by Steve Axford.

“I try to combine the beauty I see with some scientific accuracy, so most of my photos could be used to identify things and will show the fine detail.  Recently I have started to take time lapse videos of mushrooms, and other things, growing.  This adds another dimension to an already fascination world and sometimes allows a glimpse into the world of interactions between different life forms.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Creativity Hop: May 24, 2014

  1. The stuff you find on line never ceases to amaze me! The old-timer is right, now that’s art!

    I was late to put up my post for to day. I’m sorry. I had a good reason though IMHO. I explain it on my post. 😀

Join the conversation

