Poetry and Your Life

Gold7

Pond at Night, Gold ink on black Arches Cover.

Sometimes poems say everything that needs to be said.  Most of what I do today didn’t exist when I was in school.  What I still use today is the problem solving I learned. How to think, not what to think. And, of course, that art is the heartbeat of a culture. Everything I learned was by feeling my way along in the dark.

 

You and Art

Your exact errors make a music
that nobody hears.
Your straying feet find the great dance,
walking alone.
And you live on a world where stumbling
always leads home.

Year after year fits over your face—
when there was youth, your talent
was youth;
later, you find your way by touch
where moss redeems the stone;

and you discover where music begins
before it makes any sound,
far in the mountains where canyons go
still as the always-falling, ever-new flakes of snow.

—William Stafford, from You Must Revise Your Life

–Quinn McDonald is giving away a poetry book. You still have time to sign up for the giveaway.

7 thoughts on “Poetry and Your Life

  1. This leaves me warm’n’fuzzy; reminds me of my best friend and her approach to her paintings. She cherishes and looks for those “happy accidents.”

  2. Gorgeous Quinn! I can’t wait for next Saturdays class to learn how to make monsoon papers! I the poem is beautiful also.

    • Thanks, Paula. I DO sell my artwork. Just sold a piece last week. This piece was specifically made to serve as a donor piece in a experiment I was working on. The experiment didn’t work out as planned, so I’m glad I have the photo.

  3. I love the artwork!
    At first it looked like something I might see in the deep south, then it looked like the entrance to a cave and when I looked even closer it looked like a stunning lake at midnight…all in about five seconds time. I want to keep looking at it.

Join the conversation

