Procrastinating on Your Way to Your Dream

Yesterday I talked about re-examining the rules you make. To see if they still work. To see if you have outgrown them. Rules we make for ourselves are one way we stall on our way to reaching our dream.

If your dream is still dancing beyond your fingertips, if you have stalled on the way to getting your dream, maybe it’s time to take ask if you are procrastinating.  If you are a perfectionist, you are probably a procrastinator.  It’s keeping you from getting to your dream. Because you want the dream to be perfect before the new, perfect you seizes that perfect dream. Oh, and at the perfect time, too.  Psssst. . . that’s never going to happen.

So put some traction in your action and grab that imperfect dream, because, after all, it is your dream and doesn’t have to be perfect.

Stop planning, stop talking to people about planning, and take one step toward your dream. Most of us spend too much time making up plans, planning for what could go wrong and then watching as problems surface and things do go wrong. Of course they do, when we keep looking for things to go wrong, we’ll find enough to barricade the dream. Time to take a lyric from Jackson Browne: “Better bring your own redemption when you come/ To the barricades of heaven where I’m from.”

Listen to your heart.

Listen to your heart.

Here’s the biggest thing I learned while I was re-creating my relationship with food: logic is wonderful. If you live in your head, logic sounds like real life. But until you bring emotion into it, you won’t act. Logic lays out the plan, but emotion fuels the action.

The worst emotion you can bring in is fear. It might be an emotion you know well, but it’s not inspiring. Bring in doing a small thing right. Bring in making small steps. Bring in congratulating yourself over small things. Look back and see how far you’ve come. Toward that beat up, crumpled, beloved dream that you are now clutching to your heart.

Update on Is It A Book: I’ve turned in a table of contents, I’ve turned in my sample pages. Right now the acquisitions editor is on vacation. It may be next week till the negotiations are done. I’m grateful to have a smart agent.

–Quinn McDonald is practicing patience as she waits. She horrible at it.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Procrastinating on Your Way to Your Dream

  1. I procrastinate by not procrastinating.
    Here’s what I mean…I put off my own projects and ideas by doing the other things that need attention…the laundry, the floors, even the windows!
    Whenever I start cleaning I know there’s something else I should be facing!
    Ugh! I better go hang the laundry…

  2. A small step or a giant leap into the unknown . . . it doesn’t matter which as long as they are forward. I feel like I have taken a giant leap into the unknown that will require many small steps from this recovering perfectionist.

    Deng Ming-Dao’s wise words are etched in my mind and heart: Each day passes whether you participate or not.

    I am having trouble sleeping but I don’t mind.

  3. Check out the book Living Your Best Life by Laura Berman Fortgang. It is the best one I’ve read in a long time that shows you ways to get over yourself, decide what you actually do want, instead of think you want, and then move toward it, in the small steps that you recommend, Quinn.

Join the conversation

