Experience the World

Every action you take sends ripples out and changes the world. That sounds pretty grandiose, particularly if we live isolated lives. But we don’t.

ContractA client who doesn’t pay on time causes me to use the experience to write up a stricter contract with a clause that charges interest. Maybe a potential client, one who pays well, avoids me because of that.

A relationship that falls apart through a breaking of trust causes the hurt person in the relationship to be more guarded in the next relationship.

The pain you experience in life gets passed on to the next, often innocent,  party. The person who has shown every reason to be trusted gets the brunt of the previous relationship–the one that broke down. Is that what experience is?

Questions I wonder about:

1. Does this happen with good experiences, too? Do I remove the interest clause when a client pays on time? (Probably not. I’ll see that as an aberration, still believe in the “norm” of the non-paying client set.)

2. How does experience change how we see the world–and does it always have to be protective or negative?

3. Is there a personal statute of limitations on a bad experience? How many people in our lives have to pay for the one who hurt us?

–Quinn McDonald wonders about the emotional experience of how we expect the world to treat us.

11 thoughts on “Experience the World

    • It’s one of the reasons I left–when I thought the answer was “no.” But having been away for a while, I realize that expecting to be treated well is always a good way to go. That way, when it doesn’t work out, it seems like an aberration. And when it does, all goes well with the world.

  1. Great things to ponder on a beautiful Sunday morning. Did you ever see a credit card company or any lender say that will remove the interest clause if you pay on time? It’s business, and handling things like business insure more successful business relationships. Everyone knows what to expect!

  2. I usually manage to give everyone the benefit of the doubt, or not have doubt until it appears that it is necessary. Which is why a friend of ours was given our apartment to rent until he found a job and could pay it, got the job, didn’t pay rent (6 months) and stole $1200 and took six of my dad’s and grandad’s pocket watches and sold them because he was addicted to oxycontin. My first marriage was a 14 year disappointment but my second was wonderful. You have to be willing to take chances and not get too hung up on the possible “damages”. Just don’t take chances that you can’ tsee yourself living through and moving on. You have to get past the current cultural idea that if you are taken advantage of you are a sucker. Generosity and trust are virtues that sometimes get abused, but it is not about you, it’s about them. And “friends” are the first to stiff you I’ve found over the years.

    • I love the line, “you have to get over the current cultural ida that if you are taken advantage of you are a sucker.” That is the key idea, now that I think of it. And the one that follows is going in my quote journal. “Generosity and trust are virtues that sometimes get abused, but it is not about you, it is about them.” Very hard to make work in the soul, but very true.

  3. Well, you can change that clause of charging interest to something that will disappear after a year of paying on time; I’m always cautious with deep issues and new people (people are like puppies: they have to earn trust before they’re allowed in the living room); and I do so try expect the worst from people when I first meet them (fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice shame on me).

Join the conversation

