Creative Link Hop (Feb. 14, ’15)

Normally, I post links to paintings, photography, or street art on Saturday. But it’s Valentine’s Day, and you may be writing cards, so here are some lovely people doing caligraphy and hand-lettering.

Joanne Sharpe is a delightful teacher of hand-lettering. She never runs out of ideas. You can see her demonstrating hand-lettering here:

And here is one of her colorful journal pages:

© Joanne Z Sharpe

© Joanne Z Sharpe

Joanne Fink also does wonderful lettering. Here’s a video of her using Koi (watercolor) pens, making it look easy:

Here’s a series of hearts in her loose, doodling style.

© Joanne Finnk

© Joanne Finnk

My friend, Michael Noyes, is an amazing calligrapher. He did my first logo:

Design by Michael Noyes

Design by Michael Noyes

And he does amazing work with images combined with calligraphy.

product_220_border

I love this quote he illustrated by Henry David Thoreau. And yes, he sells his work.

The late Lisa Engelbrecht made wonderful art and was a kind and inspiring teacher.

© Lisa Engelbrecht

© Lisa Engelbrecht

She called herself a Letterista, because much of her work was new, inventive and got her in trouble with traditional calligraphers.

Laurie Doctor is a calligrapher whose work is both powerful and gentle. She’s an inspiring teacher, too. She has a series, Another Night in the Ruins, a response to a poem by Galway Kinnell.

© Laurie Doctor

© Laurie Doctor

Above is Night Vigil, a combination of writing and figurative work. She will be coming to Madeline Island School of the Arts in September (2015), but she does many workshops each year.

Go have a wonderful weekend writing wonderfully.

-Quinn McDonald is a writer who loves hand-lettering.

12 thoughts on “Creative Link Hop (Feb. 14, ’15)

    • What an interesting coincidence, Linda. I know Michael P. very well. When I was selling my art at art shows, I’d oven run into Michael, who would recite poetry. I don’t think I ever saw him without his hat.

  1. I am loving the Creative Link Hops! Thank you so much. I look for books, artists, poems, music, etc. on Pinterest and Google. Fun and inspiring!

  2. I have Joanne Sharpes book, but I just may have to take an online class with her. I love Joanne Finks Zen Doodles and also have a couple of her books. As always Quinn, thanks for inspiring me! Have a happy Valentines day and I hope you are feeling loved!

  3. What a treat, Quinn, to be greeted this morning with ME in your post. Thank you, and Happy Valentine’s Day to you and Kent. Muchas Smoochas!

Join the conversation

