Book Review and Giveaway: Journalution

Cover

Cover

Sandy Grason wrote Journalution in 2005, and it still stands as one of the best books on deep-writing journaling. She writes in an easy-to-understand way, and combines the wisdom of Julia Cameron with the emotional nurturing of Shakti Gawain. (One of my favorite lessons from Gawain is, “to feel more love, you have to let go of more anger.”)

Grason handles journaling in a simple, direct way. If you have been swamped by the responsibility of art journaling, if you are tired of trying to think of something to journal about, if a sketchbook journal disappoints you because you can’t draw, you will enjoy this book.

The subtitle of the book says it all: “Journaling to Awaken Your Inner Voice, Heal Your Life, and Manifest Your Dreams.” That’s a lot of journaling, but it’s packed into 200 pages that you can dip into, study, or read from front to back.

Table of Contents, page 1.

Table of Contents, page 1. Click to enlarge the image.

If you haven’t been deep-writing journaling, start now. Grason helps you getstarted and answers some simple-sounding but meaningful questions like “Where do I start?” and “Why do I need to journal?”  The answer to that is in a quote from the introduction:

“You must first be who you really are, then do what you need to do, in order to have what you want.” –Margaret Young

Grason gives you tips on writing when you don’t feel like it, figuring out what’s important to you, getting to your truth, and facing a blank page. There are tips for keeping track of your hopes, dreams and visions. There is an index to find all the exercises, from playing small to living large and how to set intentions and remain detached from the outcome.

The book is gently used, and from my book shelf. It’s time for it to bring ideas, clarity, and inspiration to someone else.

Table of Contents, page 2.

Table of Contents, page 2. Click to enlarge the image.

Quote from the book: “Inside, we are all just little children trying to heal, trying to do the best we can in this world. Many times it doesn’t look like that to others, though. Often, the child inside is angry and resentful; it may even want to hurt others.”

Giveaway: Leave a comment telling me why you want the book, and you’ll be in the drawing. There is just one book. The drawing is random, so you don’t have to be brilliant. International entries are welcome. I’ll announce the winner this coming Saturday, March 14, so stop back and check in!

Quinn McDonald is making room on her shelf for more books.

 

55 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway: Journalution

  1. I keep trying to journal knowing it is what I need to
    do to heal yet I just can’t get started….this book might be just what I need.

  2. That sounds like a great book. I’ve never been good at journaling- other than my gratitude journal. Maybe this book would be a great way to get me started. Thanks for the opportunity to learn more Quinn.

  3. Thanks Quinn for the nudge. I went ahead and bought the Kindle version of the book and dusted off one of my handful of journals to fire off my first entry in quite a while just tonight. it felt rather good. . .

  4. I never really understood what the big fuss is about journaling. I send an email to my best friend every day and I consider it a form of journaling, but maybe I am missing out on something more. I have never tried art journaling either, but I enjoy mixed-media art and it is my main hobby. So… maybe this book would be a good intro for me.

  5. I have a lot of anger to journal out (parents with really significant health issues, my company is being eliminated due to state politics at its finest), and I don’t really know where to start with the process. I’m sure this book would help.

  6. I’ve been thinking that it’s time to begin a regular writing practice especially now that I’m in rehab after surgery and have LOTS of time to wwrite and reflect.

  7. My common day journal is pretty darn common. I keep track of what I eat, how many laundry loads are done, and occasionally write down quotes I like. Weather fell by the wayside quickly. Commentary is rare (but not nonexistent).

  8. I simply just love any book about journaling, whether artistic/creative journaling or written reflection journaling (I just made that phrase up to sound nicer than DIARY, ha!!). Thank you for the chance to win this generous giveaway!

  9. A friend uses her journal to review her life and plan her future. That sounds so appealing to me, but I can’t seem to get past the blank page. If I were to win this book, I think it would provide some direction for filling in those pages.

  10. Please, I could really use that book. I’ve been gathering art supplies, have notebooks ready, and sincerely believe art journaling and particularly deep journaling would be a worthwhile thing for me to do, but I haven’t been able to get myself to start.

  11. I’ve never been successful with art journals or any other form of journaling for that matter. Hoping this book will be what I need to make a breakthrough. Thanks for the offer.

  12. I am going through some major life transitions at the moment and I think journalling would help me through them, so this book could be just what I need to get started.

  13. I’ve been looking for ways to deepen my journaling practice. It’s shifted in ways that I’m not sure are really beneficial to me so to get back to a more powerful & beneficial practice.

  14. I would love to have this book in my collection. I just checked to see if my local library had it so I could peruse it and sadly they don’t. So if I won it it would be wonderful. Thanks Quinn for sharing this book! And thanks for writing what you do, everyday you bring new insights!

  15. Thank you for this wonderful book introduction. I have thought a great deal about how to incorporate journaling into my everyday. You are not only passing this wonderful book along but also a part of yourself as you have traveled these pages. I intend to purchase this book. It should provide a path to settle the soul.

  16. Why? Because I am trying to make it through Janet Connor’s “Writing down the soul” and about every three pages she makes me want to throw the book against the wall. I’d like to have a good accessible book on journaling that doesn’t make me feel that way.

  17. This book has been on my Amazon wish list for a while now but there always seems to be something more important than a book on how to reach myself. I try to journal several times a week but often find it to be more of a to-do list than a listening to my own wisdom.

  18. I have been in a LONG dry spell with my art for a while now. My heart longs for my journal but I seem a little frozen. My husband talks often of how he wants to journal but is afraid, doesn’t know how to start, etc… so we would both benefit from reading this book! I’d love a chance to win! Thanks, Quinn!

  19. This is my first introduction to the book so thank you for sharing it here. As an empty nester I am trying to return to the young girl I vaguely remember, as my roles in life are changing I find myself struggling to get back to who it am. Thank you for this opportunity to win a copy.

  20. Good Morning! thank you for sharing Journalation—oops, after i typed that I scrolled up to check spelling and it’s JournalUtion—but now that i typed it, i kind of like the typo, as journaling often provides a revelAtion of sorts! I’m feeling lucky—please count me in! Thanks again and hope your day will be full of surprises too!!!

  21. It’s funny this came up at this time. I was just having one of my talks with myself last night and I realized I have a lot of anger inside of me. I haven’t realized how much anger I’ve been holding onto but I believe it’s holding me back from healing my emotions. It goes way back to my dad leaving us when I was 8 and my mom marrying the man who beat her almost daily. I love the part saying you need to get rid of anger to have more love. I’m stuck and this book may help.

  22. This book sounds like it would be a big help. I’m trying to recover from a depressive episode and have be told to figure out what is important to me outside of pleasing other people. It sounds like the exercises in this book may help me figure that out without having to answer the question directly. That can be overwhelming.
    Thank you for the opportunity, I appreciate it.

  23. This book looks like a good solution to many a stuck journal page. While I really am drawn to the words in my art journal the right words sometimes are tricky to come by. Thanks for the opportunity.

  24. Im not a “writer” but I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to reading it everyday gleaning something from it to push me in the right direction to help me pursue my “real self”….something that has gotten lost along the way of life. This book sounds like it may help me on that journey…

  25. My son and daughter-in-love give me a Story Journal for Christmas. Right now I am drawing pictures in it that will eventually become part of a children’s book. But those pictures will be completed in the near future and I want to add more to the journal. This sounds like a wonderful book to start me along that different path. Thank you for your generosity.

  26. The quote from Margaret Young..stopped me..It reminded me of a quote from Pooh…
    You are braver than you believe…stronger than you think…
    All that comes back to being who I really am…
    And I do today…

  27. I’d love to have a copy of this book to help me find my way back into my regular journaling practice. Through seven years’ worth of extreme life challenges I’ve more or less lost the thread of my journaling, and I want it back. This sounds like just the right thing to help right here, right now.

  28. Thank you for this giveaway. I’ve been journaling my whole life but recently I’ve been neglecting my journal for various reasons, so a good read about the topic could be just the kick start I needed to get going again

  29. I need a kick start to get journalling again. I have abandoned it – maybe this is what I need to get going again!

  30. I wrote in my journal almost every day last year. But over the winter I forgot. My journal is sitting on my desk, looking sad….
    Most of my writing was about daily life. I feel that I can get more out of it, but I don’t know where to start. So maybe that’s the reason why my journal collects dust.
    This book seems like it has some answers, some ideas I can put into practice and bring me back to my journal!
    I have put it on my wishlist, but my budget is tight so I hope I will be lucky! Thanks for the opportunity!

  31. Sounds so simple when described like this…. 😉

    What a great way to clear space on your book shelves, letting things circulate, keep the dust off, helping random strangers.

Join the conversation

