Diabetic-Friendly Snack

As a diabetic, I’m always on the lookout for a satisfying snack that can carry me through, fill me up, cut my cravings and be healthy. That’s a big order for a snack.

Nana1I like bananas, and although they are fine for diabetics, I can’t scarf down three of them in a sitting. One-half cup has 15 grams of carbs. (I eat about 25 carbs at breakfast and lunch, less at dinner.) But I’m not eating half a cup of bananas at one sitting. That’s what makes this a great snack.

Slice the banana into thin slices–about 1/4-inch thick. You don’t have to use a ruler, just make them all about the same thickness.

Place the bananas on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and freeze for several hours. You want them to be hard, frozen all the way through. If they are still wet or slick, this technique won’t work.

Melt a high-quality chocolate (I used a Lindt bar, with 70 percent cocoa) over (not in) hot water. Here’s how you do that: take a  one-quart cooking pot, fill it 3/4 full of water and fit a stainless steel bowl onto the pot so that it fits across the top rather than floating in the water. It’s important that no water splashes into the chocolate, as it will seize and not work for the recipe.

Nana2Melt the chocolate in the stainless steel bowl. Do this slowly. The water should be hot, but not boiling. The chocolate should be smooth and glossy, not grainy.

nana3Use a fork to scoop up (not stab) a frozen slice of banana and place it in the chocolate. Coat it on both sides, then use the fork and pick up the banana slice and place it carefully on top of a plain (un-chocolated) slice.

nana4The two slices will immediately freeze together, so there is no slipping or chocolate mess. That’s the genius of this snack–it’s easy to make and produces very little mess.

nana5Once you have every plain banana slice covered with a chocolate one, put them back in the freezer until they are completely hard. Transfer to a plastic bag. Eat them frozen, it makes them last longer and you get a much better flavor of melting chocolate and banana as your mouth warms them up. I eat two (total of four banana slices) for a snack. It calms down my craving, gives me a chocolate fix, and doesn’t jerk my blood sugar around. (Test this yourself. Your results could vary.)

The rest of the chocolate in the bowl can be refrigerated and re-used next time. Or, you can eat it with a spoon while it’s still warm, but that may raise your blood sugar higher than you like.

Quinn McDonald is a diabetic who craves good chocolate.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Diabetic-Friendly Snack

  1. I think one of my few blessings as a diabetic is that I really don’t like chocolate with a low amount of cacao in it. My favorite is a Cote d’Or 86%. The darker the better. I have tried Lindt 90% as well, but at a certain point the consistency becomes almost powdery (is that a word?) and I don’t like that. Even though the taste does not bother me, I still want my chocolate to feel like chocolate, not cacaopowder. I like to melt the extra dark and mix it with things like walnuts and/or grated coconot sometimes and then shape it into a new bar and break it into pieces after it’s hardened again. But I will definitely try this banana thing as well. Might be nice with strawberries too.

    • I agree with you that once the Lindt gets up to 90 percent, it does have a dry, powdery (yep, a real word!) mouthfeel. Chocolate is conched (stirred at a low heat) to make it have a better mouthfeel, and that’s the taste I like. You can try strawberries, but they have too much liquid to work for me. Works really works with raspberries, though.

Join the conversation

