Art, No Attachments Necessary

For slightly under an hour today, I was in the studio, having fun. I have writing assignments to finish, so I’m not spending as much time in the studio as I’d like. But when I’m there, I’m there completely. Today, I was playing with photographs. Just playing. Not making cards, not journaling, just seeing if I could . . . well, I couldn’t. But now I know what went wrong, and I think I can still manage to create the same outcome. That’s for another time.

Art Hands, photo © Rosaland Hannibal

This kind of experimentation without expectation of success or project completion is valuable. Priceless, in fact. Working without attachment. No fretting about time limits, no need to complete something, no need to have something conventionally pretty when I’m done.

Last Saturday, when two art friends and I made Monsoon Papers, we had no idea when we started what would happen at the end. Working that way is fun and easy. I avoided judging the progress of my paper and kept adding and washing off color. Was it too dark? No, it was just “trending toward dark.” I was learning which inks do what.

I noticed we laughed a lot. I noticed we shared inks and water easily. I noticed I was having a good time. Had I been attached to the outcome, I might not have noticed that, but worried that the colors were too dark, or wondering how I could use the paper, or if the pizza would be OK for everyone.

Non-attachment doesn’t mean not caring. I cared very much, just not about my

Monsoon Paper © Quinn McDonald, 2012

career as an artist, or how much I could sell this piece of paper for, or what I should do with it. I cared about what was happening in the moment. That was enough.

Non-attachment doesn’t mean not planning. I carefully chose each color as I applied it. But I was not concerned if it didn’t do what I thought. I made note of what happened, it left room for learning instead of having learning squeezed out by disappointment.

Non-attachment to a project means you allow each step to happen, and learn from it. It’s very hard to master if you are competitive (and yes, I am), but mastery will allow you to live longer. And be happy doing it.

Quinn McDonald is working on non-attachment, as she is on many other long-term skills. She is still impatient.

8 thoughts on “Art, No Attachments Necessary

  1. “This kind of experimentation without expectation of success or project completion is valuable. Priceless, in fact.” This line speaks to me as I often fret when I’m experimenting with art projects, wondering whether they will turn out or if I’m wasting money on all the supplies I’m using. I have to stop myself and just go with the process because I’ll never know if something works unless I try.

    The monsoon papers experimentation on Sunday was a perfect exercise for me to let the process flow. I loved trying something new and all of our papers turned out so great! What I loved most about the day was the fun, laughter, commraderie and just hanging out and sharing (and of course, THE PIZZA!). It was a perfect day and I can’t wait for future play dates!

    • We love you doing that–now I’m going over to your Jan 10 blog. It won’t let me leave a comment. I have that trouble with Blogger frequently. I love the last line of your post–“like truffles under the leaf mold.” I’m using it in my journal!

  2. That’s really interesting, Quinn. I think its not possible to really play with creativity unless you let go of the attachment to the outcome – and what a great metaphor for the bigger life picture!
    My kids, when they were quite small, had already after a year or two at school developed a fear and constriction around painting or drawing because “I might not get it right”, and I’ve had to work even with them (now 6, 12,18,21) to let them know that it doesn’t matter what they end up with, or how many pieces of paper they use – its the experiencing that matters.
    Interestingly, I wrote myself just a couple of evenings ago about how valuable that time to play with creativity is, although my reflection was more about journaling. The post is 10th Jan and is titled 11pm.

    Non attachment to the outcome. Thanks again, Quinn, for the reminder

    • It’s MUCH harder to do in the big picture of life, particularly if you have a job in the business world. (Let’s hope Pete shows up and tells us his job is different and this is what drives him!) I think most businesses are closely attached to some sort of outcome all the time. It’s one reason I work for myself!

Join the conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.